Labor
Carpenter charge-out rates
Carpenter charge-out is a journeyman T&M labor line for formwork, framing, and finishing. Formwork on civil sits differently than finish work. These are fully loaded billable hours, not a shop wage.
Each row is one region. Currency is CAD or USD as labeled on the row. Open a region page for the rest of the book.
Carpenter by region
| Region | Low | Central | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Alabama Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $65 USD | $75 USD |
| Alaska Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Alaska Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $95 USD | $110 USD | $125 USD |
| Alberta Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Alberta Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 CAD | $100 CAD | $110 CAD |
| Arizona Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Arizona Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
| Arkansas Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Arkansas Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $65 USD | $75 USD |
| British Columbia Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · British Columbia Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 CAD | $105 CAD | $120 CAD |
| California Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · California Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 USD | $100 USD | $115 USD |
| Colorado Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Colorado Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $95 USD |
| Connecticut Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Connecticut Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 USD | $100 USD | $110 USD |
| Delaware Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Delaware Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 USD | $90 USD | $100 USD |
| Florida Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Florida Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
| Georgia Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Georgia Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Hawaii Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Hawaii Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $105 USD | $120 USD | $135 USD |
| Idaho Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Idaho Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
| Illinois Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Illinois Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 USD | $90 USD | $100 USD |
| Indiana Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Indiana Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Iowa Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Iowa Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Kansas Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Kansas Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Kentucky Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Kentucky Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $75 USD |
| Louisiana Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Louisiana Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $75 USD |
| Maine Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Maine Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 USD | $85 USD | $95 USD |
| Manitoba Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Manitoba Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 CAD | $90 CAD | $105 CAD |
| Maryland Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Maryland Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 USD | $95 USD | $105 USD |
| Massachusetts Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Massachusetts Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 USD | $100 USD | $115 USD |
| Michigan Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Michigan Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $80 USD |
| Minnesota Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Minnesota Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $90 USD |
| Mississippi Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Mississippi Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $55 USD | $65 USD | $75 USD |
| Missouri Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Missouri Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Montana Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Montana Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
| Nebraska Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Nebraska Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Nevada Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Nevada Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $95 USD |
| New Brunswick Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · New Brunswick Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 CAD | $90 CAD | $100 CAD |
| New Hampshire Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · New Hampshire Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 USD | $90 USD | $100 USD |
| New Jersey Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · New Jersey Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 USD | $100 USD | $110 USD |
| New Mexico Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · New Mexico Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| New York Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · New York Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 USD | $105 USD | $120 USD |
| Newfoundland & Labrador Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Newfoundland & Labrador Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 CAD | $95 CAD | $110 CAD |
| North Carolina Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · North Carolina Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| North Dakota Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · North Dakota Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $80 USD |
| Northern Canada (YT/NT/NU) Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Northern Canada (YT/NT/NU) Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $105 CAD | $120 CAD | $135 CAD |
| Nova Scotia Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Nova Scotia Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 CAD | $90 CAD | $100 CAD |
| Ohio Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Ohio Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $80 USD | $90 USD |
| Oklahoma Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Oklahoma Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Ontario Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Ontario Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 CAD | $100 CAD | $115 CAD |
| Oregon Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Oregon Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 USD | $90 USD | $100 USD |
| Pennsylvania Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Pennsylvania Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $95 USD |
| Quebec Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Quebec Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 CAD | $100 CAD | $110 CAD |
| Rhode Island Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Rhode Island Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 USD | $90 USD | $105 USD |
| Saskatchewan Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Saskatchewan Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 CAD | $90 CAD | $105 CAD |
| South Carolina Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · South Carolina Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $75 USD |
| South Dakota Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · South Dakota Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Tennessee Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Tennessee Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $70 USD | $80 USD |
| Texas Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Texas Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $90 USD |
| Utah Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Utah Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $90 USD |
| Vermont Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Vermont Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 USD | $85 USD | $95 USD |
| Virginia Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Virginia Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 USD | $80 USD | $90 USD |
| Washington Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 · Washington Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $80 USD | $95 USD | $110 USD |
| West Virginia Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · West Virginia Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 USD | $65 USD | $75 USD |
| Wisconsin Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Wisconsin Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
| Wyoming Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · USD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 · Wyoming Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $65 USD | $75 USD | $85 USD |
Use your agreed rates on every daily ticket.
These public ranges are a benchmark. SubTrack stores the rates you agreed with the client on a project rate sheet. Crews apply those rates to labor, equipment, materials, and subcontractors on the daily ticket. The same figures carry into reporting and the billing documents you send.
Carpenter rates FAQ
What is a typical carpenter charge-out rate?
Carpenter charge-out is a journeyman T&M labor line for formwork, framing, and finishing. Formwork on civil sits differently than finish work. These are fully loaded billable hours, not a shop wage. Open a region page for the local number, or a region plus carpenter page for a single market.
Is the carpenter figure a wage or a charge-out?
A labor charge-out, not a wage. Burden, overhead, and margin are already in the published range. Overtime rules belong on the project rate sheet.
Can I bill the central carpenter reference?
Not from this page alone. The central value is a public check, not a measured market median. SubTrack rate sheets are where your class, standby, and OT actually live.