Canada · CAD
Alberta charge-out rates
Alberta charge-out rates sit on oil sands, pipeline, and municipal earthworks. Crews in Edmonton, Calgary, and the Industrial Heartland bill labor and iron in CAD. These figures are public reference ranges, not wages. Labor lines are charge-out estimates. Equipment lines are bare, operated, or rental when the row says so.
Prices in CAD. Public T&M reference ranges, not wages or a quote.
Alberta labor
| Trade | Low | Central | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boilermaker Pressure vessel and boiler work. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $115 CAD | $130 CAD | $150 CAD |
| Carpenter (Journeyman) Formwork, framing, finishing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 CAD | $100 CAD | $110 CAD |
| Concrete Finisher Placing and finishing structural and flatwork concrete. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $85 CAD | $100 CAD | $110 CAD |
| Crane Operator (Journeyman) Mobile and tower crane operation. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $115 CAD | $130 CAD | $150 CAD |
| Electrician (Journeyman) Industrial and commercial electrical installation. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $105 CAD | $120 CAD | $140 CAD |
| General Laborer Site labor, flagging, general cleanup and support work. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $60 CAD | $70 CAD | $85 CAD |
| Heavy Equipment Operator Operator billed separately from bare equipment rate. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $95 CAD | $110 CAD | $125 CAD |
| HVAC / Refrigeration Mechanic HVAC installation and service. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $105 CAD | $120 CAD | $140 CAD |
| Instrumentation Technician Instrumentation and controls, industrial plants. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $120 CAD | $135 CAD | $150 CAD |
| Insulator (Mechanical) Mechanical insulation, industrial settings. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $95 CAD | $110 CAD | $125 CAD |
| Ironworker Structural steel erection, rebar placing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $100 CAD | $115 CAD | $130 CAD |
| Millwright Mechanical equipment installation and alignment. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $110 CAD | $125 CAD | $140 CAD |
| Painter / Coatings (Industrial) Industrial coatings and blasting. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 CAD | $105 CAD | $120 CAD |
| Pipefitter / Steamfitter Process and utility piping, industrial settings. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $110 CAD | $125 CAD | $140 CAD |
| Plumber (Journeyman) Commercial and industrial plumbing. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $100 CAD | $115 CAD | $130 CAD |
| Project Manager Typically billed on T&M for owner-directed extras. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $145 CAD | $170 CAD | $190 CAD |
| Safety Officer (NCSO/CHST) Dedicated site safety supervision. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $95 CAD | $110 CAD | $125 CAD |
| Scaffolder Scaffold erection and dismantle. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $90 CAD | $105 CAD | $120 CAD |
| Skilled Laborer / Pipelayer Grade checking, pipe laying, trench work. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $70 CAD | $80 CAD | $95 CAD |
| Superintendent Site supervision above foreman level. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $140 CAD | $160 CAD | $180 CAD |
| Survey Crew (2-person, equipped) Two-person survey crew including instruments. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $165 CAD | $190 CAD | $220 CAD |
| Truck Driver (Class 1 / CDL-A) Driver billed separately from bare truck rate. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $75 CAD | $90 CAD | $100 CAD |
| Welder (B-Pressure) Pressure welding; rate typically excludes rig. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $120 CAD | $140 CAD | $165 CAD |
| Welder with Rig Truck B-pressure welder including welding rig truck. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $165 CAD | $190 CAD | $215 CAD |
| Working Foreman Trade foreman, typically working with tools. Labor charge-out · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $110 CAD | $130 CAD | $145 CAD |
Alberta equipment
| Equipment | Low | Central | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Air Compressor - 185 CFM Daily bare rental, fuel extra. · 185 CFM Rental · CAD/day · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel excluded. | $95 CAD | $120 CAD | $145 CAD |
| Articulated Rock Truck - 40 Ton Bare rate; add operator. · 40 Ton Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $170 CAD | $200 CAD | $225 CAD |
| Backhoe - Loader/Backhoe Bare rate; add operator. · Loader/Backhoe Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $90 CAD | $105 CAD | $120 CAD |
| Boom Lift - 60 ft Bare rate. · 60 ft Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $75 CAD | $90 CAD | $105 CAD |
| Dozer - D6 Class Bare rate; add operator. · D6 Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $170 CAD | $200 CAD | $225 CAD |
| Dozer - D8 Class Bare rate; add operator. · D8 Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $235 CAD | $270 CAD | $305 CAD |
| Excavator - 20 Ton Class (e.g. 320/200) Bare rate; add operator. Tracked hydraulic excavator. · 20 Ton Class (e.g. 320/200) Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $160 CAD | $185 CAD | $210 CAD |
| Excavator - 30 Ton Class (e.g. 330/300) Bare rate; add operator. · 30 Ton Class (e.g. 330/300) Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $195 CAD | $225 CAD | $255 CAD |
| Excavator - 45 Ton Class Bare rate; add operator. Mass excavation class. · 45 Ton Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $250 CAD | $290 CAD | $330 CAD |
| Generator - 100 kW Daily bare rental, fuel extra. · 100 kW Rental · CAD/day · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel excluded. | $240 CAD | $290 CAD | $340 CAD |
| Hydrovac Truck (2-person crew) Operated rate - includes crew. Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Modeled benchmark · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $325 CAD | $370 CAD | $415 CAD |
| Light Tower Daily bare rental, fuel extra. Rental · CAD/day · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel excluded. | $120 CAD | $150 CAD | $185 CAD |
| Mini Excavator - 3-5 Ton Bare rate; add operator. · 3-5 Ton Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $75 CAD | $90 CAD | $105 CAD |
| Mobile Crane - 100 Ton (operated) Operated and maintained rate. · 100 Ton (operated) Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $330 CAD | $380 CAD | $430 CAD |
| Mobile Crane - 60 Ton (operated) Operated and maintained rate. · 60 Ton (operated) Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $255 CAD | $295 CAD | $335 CAD |
| Motor Grader - 140/14 Class Bare rate; add operator. · 140/14 Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $165 CAD | $190 CAD | $215 CAD |
| Motor Scraper - 621/623 Class Bare rate; add operator. · 621/623 Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $230 CAD | $265 CAD | $300 CAD |
| Packer - Padfoot/Smooth 84" Bare rate; add operator. · Padfoot/Smooth 84" Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $110 CAD | $130 CAD | $150 CAD |
| Picker / Boom Truck - 45 Ton (operated) Operated rate. · 45 Ton (operated) Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $215 CAD | $250 CAD | $285 CAD |
| Scissor Lift - 26 ft Daily bare rental. · 26 ft Rental · CAD/day · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $185 CAD | $225 CAD | $265 CAD |
| Site Office Trailer Daily rate, delivery extra. Rental · CAD/day · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator not stated. Fuel not stated. | $45 CAD | $60 CAD | $80 CAD |
| Skid Steer Bare rate; add operator. Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $60 CAD | $75 CAD | $90 CAD |
| Tandem Gravel Truck (with driver) Operated rate - driver included. Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $125 CAD | $145 CAD | $165 CAD |
| Telehandler - 10k Class Bare rate; add operator. · 10k Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $85 CAD | $100 CAD | $120 CAD |
| Tractor & End Dump (with driver) Operated rate - driver included. Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $150 CAD | $170 CAD | $195 CAD |
| Tractor & Lowboy (with driver) Operated rate - driver included. Equipment moves. Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $175 CAD | $205 CAD | $235 CAD |
| Trencher - Ride-on Bare rate; add operator. · Ride-on Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $95 CAD | $115 CAD | $135 CAD |
| Water Truck (with driver) Operated rate - driver included. Operated equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator included. Fuel not stated. | $115 CAD | $135 CAD | $155 CAD |
| Wheel Loader - 3-4 yd Class Bare rate; add operator. · 3-4 yd Class Bare equipment · CAD/hr · Reference estimate · effective 2026-08 Operator excluded. Fuel not stated. | $140 CAD | $160 CAD | $185 CAD |
Use your agreed rates on every daily ticket.
These public ranges are a benchmark. SubTrack stores the rates you agreed with the client on a project rate sheet. Crews apply those rates to labor, equipment, materials, and subcontractors on the daily ticket. The same figures carry into reporting and the billing documents you send.
Alberta rates FAQ
What are construction charge-out rates in Alberta?
Alberta rows in this index are fully loaded T&M reference ranges for labor and equipment, in CAD, effective 2026-08. They are not wages and they are not a live market survey. Alberta charge-out rates sit on oil sands, pipeline, and municipal earthworks. Crews in Edmonton, Calgary, and the Industrial Heartland bill labor and iron in CAD. These figures are public reference ranges, not wages. Labor lines are charge-out estimates. Equipment lines are bare, operated, or rental when the row says so.
Are Alberta rates wages or billable T&M?
Billable T&M reference ranges. Low, central, and high already include a public view of burden, overhead, and margin. They are not take-home pay, not a measured market median, and not a quote.
Can I put these Alberta numbers on an invoice?
No. This is a public reference book. SubTrack rate sheets lock your crew numbers to the project so every LEM bills the rate the client signed.
Is this index union or open shop for Alberta?
It is a blended public range, not a union package and not a PLA. Confirm against the agreement on the job, then store that number on the project rate sheet.
Related